Coat of arms, protected abbreviations and emblems

Swiss coats of arms can only be registered for services and only if they are just one element of the service mark. The legislation protecting coats of arms forbids the registration of such for all kind of goods - except by federal, cantonal or communal Swiss authorities. With some exceptions foreign coats of arms even cannot be registered as an element of a service mark.

A misleading use of the Swiss cross occurs when the Swiss cross is used in a way that objectively creates a false impression.

Illegal uses of coat of arms, protected abbreviations and emblems can be prosecuted ex officio by the cantonal authorities with penal sanctions. Furthermore any citizen can file a complaint with the responsible authorities as well. In the case of illegal use of such designation the injured party may also start civil proceedings.

Protected abbreviations

Protected emblems

twitter
Los Angeles 14:10
Chicago 16:10
New York 17:10
London 22:10
Zurich 23:10
Moscow 00:10
Dubai 01:10
New Delhi 02:40
Beijing 05:10
Tokyo 06:10
Sydney 07:10
Wellington 09:10