Indications of origin, protected indications of source (AOC) and protected geographical indications (PGI)

A sign only then constitutes an indication (declaration) of origin if it is understood - directly or indirectly - as reference to a certain origin for the products labelled with such mark. In general such indications of origin cannot be monopolized.

However, geographical names of an area or a place which serve to indicate an agricultural product or a processed agricultural product and the geographical circumstances to which it mostly or exclusively owes its unique quality or characteristics can be registered as protected indications of source (AOC, AOP or AO) or protected geographical indications (PGI). AOCs or PGIs are reserved exclusively for use by producers who are from the corresponding geographical region and who meet the corresponding requirements.

The attorneys of Swissberg advise you comprehensively on questions in Swiss Law as well as in international law regarding the use of indications of origin for your products.

Further information Federal Institute of Intellectual Property FIIP

Further information Federal Office for Agriculture FOAG

twitter
Los Angeles 20:05
Chicago 22:05
New York 23:05
London 04:05
Zurich 05:05
Moscow 06:05
Dubai 07:05
New Delhi 08:35
Beijing 11:05
Tokyo 12:05
Sydney 13:05
Wellington 15:05