Patent Law

Patent law protects inventions: An invention, in the legal sense, is a solution to a technical problem; inventions include products and processes.

The three requirements for obtaining a patent are (i) the novelty of the invention, i.e. be new, (ii) the inventive step, i.e. not be in an obvious way derived from the current state-of-the-art, and (iii) the commercial application, i.e. be commercially applicable, implementable and reproducible.

However please note that inventions, for which a patent has been filed, are not examined for novelty and inventive step in Switzerland.

Official fees for a Swiss patent are CHF 200 for filing and CHF 500 for the examination. Five years after the date of filing, yearly renewal fees are CHF 200 for the 7th and 8th year and CHF 310 from the 9th year on (as of 1st July 2008).

Checklist:

Further information

twitter
Los Angeles 09:40
Chicago 11:40
New York 12:40
London 17:40
Zurich 18:40
Moscow 20:40
Dubai 21:40
New Delhi 23:10
Beijing 01:40
Tokyo 02:40
Sydney 04:40
Wellington 06:40